"> Monthly List: MinistryWatch Assigns Transparency Grades For More Than 400 Christian Ministries – Ministry Watch

Type to search

Business Featured Ministry News Ministry Watch News Monthly Lists

Monthly List: MinistryWatch Assigns Transparency Grades For More Than 400 Christian Ministries

Warren Cole Smith

MinistryWatch stands for transparency and accountability.  That’s why we think it is important for Christian ministries to be as transparent as possible with donors and with the public.

So MinistryWatch will grade every ministry in its database based on transparency.  Today, we release a list of the ministries who have received an “A” grade — approximately 200 ministries.  We will be publishing lists for those receiving lower grades in the days ahead.

Our transparency grade evaluates the ease with which donors can see into the finances of a ministry.  We use three indicators:

  1. The completion and public availability of a Form 990. The Form 990 highlights revenue, expenses, fundraising costs, and executive salaries.  Form 990s have a great deal of information of interest to donors, though they are not a “gold standard” because this information is self-reported.
  2. The completion of an audited financial statement. Audited financial statements do not list executive salaries, but they have the advantage of being created by an independent accounting firm, thus giving donors and the public greater assurance that the numbers reported by management are accurate.  (Ministries with annual revenue of less than $1-million may have reviewed financial statements.)
  3. Membership in the Evangelical Council for Financial Accountability (ECFA). Members of the ECFA publicly commit to live up to the “Seven Standards of Responsible Stewardship.”  (Ministries with annual revenue less than $1-million are exempt from this requirement.)

The grading system is simple.

  • If a ministry complies with all three of the standards above, that ministry will receive a Transparency Grade of “A.”
  • If a ministry meets two of the three standards, that ministry will receive a “C.”
  • If a ministry meets only one of these standards, it will receive a “D.”
  • If it fails to meet any of the three standards, that ministry will receive a Transparency Grade of “F.”

Though we have only the 200-or-so “A” ministries here, you can search our database and see the grade of your favorite ministry by clicking here.

If you would like to report an error or a change in ministry status, please email:  wsmith@ministrywatch.com

 

Organization NameWebsiteSectorECFA?Latest 990Latest AFSGrade
Advancing Native Missions, Inc. / ANMwww.advancingnativemissions.comForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Advocates Internationalwww.advocatesinternational.orgAdvocacyYes20182018A
African Enterprisewww.africanenterprise.orgForeign MissionsYes20182017A
AIMS:(Acceleration in Mission Strategies)www.aims.orgEvangelism SupportYes20182017A
Alfalit International, Inc.www.alfalit.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172017A
Alliance Defending Freedom (pka Alliance Defense Fund, Inc.)www.adflegal.orgAdvocacyYes20182018A
Alliance for Children Everywherewww.ChildrenEverywhere.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
Ambassadors for Christ International, Inc./ AFCIwww.afci-usa.comEvangelism SupportYes20172017A
American Bible Society/ ABSwww.americanbible.orgPublishingYes20172018A
American Family Association, Inc./ Don Wildmonwww.afa.netAdvocacyYes20182018A
American Leprosy Missions, Inc.www.leprosy.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
AMG Internationalwww.amginternational.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Ankerberg Theological Research Institutewww.johnankerberg.orgEducational MediaYes20172017A
Answers in Genesis / AIG/ Ken Hamwww.answersingenesis.orgChristian GrowthYes20182016A
Asian Access Life Ministrieswww.asianaccess.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Audio Scripture Ministrieswww.ASMToday.orgEvangelism SupportYes20182018A
Awanawww.awana.orgLeadership TrainingYes20182018A
Bair Lake Bible Campwww.blbc.comChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Baptist Medical & Dental Mission International/ BMDMIwww.bmdmi.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
BEE Worldwww.beeworld.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172017A
Bethesda Missionwww.BethesdaMission.orgEvangelismYes20182018A
Bible Study Fellowship/ BSFwww.bsfinternational.orgChristian GrowthYes20172018A
Bibles for the Worldwww.bftw.orgPublishingYes20182017A
Biblica / International Bible Societywww.ibs.orgPublishingYes20182018A
Bill Glass Behind the Wallswww.behindthewalls.comEvangelismYes20172018A
Blessings Internationalwww.blessing.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Breakthrough, Inc.www.intercessors.orgAdvocacyYes20182017A
Breath of Life, Inc.www.bolministries.comEducational MediaYes20179-JulA
Bright Hope Internationalwww.brighthope.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Cadence Internationalwww.cadence.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20182018A
Care Netwww.care-net.orgAdvocacyYes20182018A
CBMC, Inc.www.cbmc.comFellowship EvangelismYes20172018A
Child Evangelism Fellowship/ CEFwww.cefonline.com/EvangelismYes20172018A
Childcare Worldwide/ Childcare Internationalwww.childcareworldwide.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Children of Promise Internationalwww.promise.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Children's Hunger Fundwww.childrenshungerfund.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182019A
China Ministries Internationalhttp://cmiusca.org/Foreign MissionsYes20182017A
China Outreach Ministries, Inc.www.chinaoutreach.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
Chinese Christian Mission, Inc.www.ccmusa.org/Foreign MissionsYes20172017A
Christ for All Nations/ Reinhard Bonnkewww.cfan.orgEvangelismYes20162017A
Christ in Youthwww.ciy.comFellowship EvangelismYes20172016A
Christian Aid Ministrieswww.christianaidministries.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Christian Blind Mission /CBMwww.cbmus.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182016A
Christian Broadcasting Network/ CBN/ 700 Club/ Pat Robertsonwww.CBN.comEducational MediaYes20182019A
Christian Freedom International (CFI)www.christianfreedom.org/AdvocacyYes20182018A
Christian Leadership Concepts, Inc.www.clchq.orgLeadership TrainingYes20172017A
Christian Legal Society/ CLSwww.clsnet.orgAdvocacyYes20182018A
Christian Medical & Dental Associations/ CMDAwww.cmda.orgChristian GrowthYes20172018A
Christian Military Fellowship/ CMFwww.cmfhq.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172018A
Christian Relief Fundwww.christianrelieffund.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182017A
Christianity Today Internationalwww.christianitytoday.comEducational MediaYes20182017A
Church Doctor Ministrieswww.churchdoctorministries.comLeadership TrainingYes20172017A
Circle Urban Ministrieswww.circleurban.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20172017A
Coalition for Christian Outreach/ CCOwww.ccojubilee.orgChristian GrowthYes20182018A
Community Bible Study, Inc.www.communitybiblestudy.orgLeadership TrainingYes20172017A
Compassion International, Inc.www.compassion.comRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Concerned Women for America/ CWFA/ Beverly LaHayewww.cwfa.orgAdvocacyYes20182017A
Convoy of Hopewww.convoyofhope.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Creation Moments/ Ian Taylorwww.creationmoments.comEducational MediaYes20182019A
Crista Ministrieswww.crista.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20182018A
Crown Financial Ministrieswww.crown.orgChristian GrowthYes20182017A
CSB Ministries / Christian Service Brigadewww.csbministries.orgLeadership TrainingYes20182018A
CSI Ministries, Inc.www.csiministries.netEvangelism SupportYes20172018A
CURE Internationalwww.cure.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20182018A
D. James Kennedy Ministries / Coral Ridge Ministries Media, Inc.www.djameskennedy.orgEducational MediaYes20182018A
Daystar U. S.www.daystarus.orgForeign MissionsYes20182003A
DiscipleMakers, Inc.www.dm.orgEvangelismYes20182018A
Doulos Ministries, Inc.www.douloscorp.comLeadership TrainingYes20182017A
Dynamic Youth Ministrieswww.youthunlimited.orgEvangelismYes20182017A
E3 Partners Ministrywww.e3partners.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Educational Media Foundation (dba K-LOVE and Air 1 Radio)www.emfbroadcasting.comRadio/ TV StationsYes20172018A
English Language Institute in Chinawww.elic.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20182017A
Entrust/ BEE Internationalwww.entrust4.orgLeadership TrainingYes20182018A
EvanTell, Inc./ Larry Moyerwww.evantell.orgChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Faith Broadcasting, Inc.www.faithbroadcasting.orgRadio/ TV StationsYes20172017A
Family Life Communications Inc (previously Family Life Broadcasting System)www.flc.orgRadio/ TV StationsYes20172017A
Family Research Council, Inc.www.frc.orgAdvocacyYes20182016A
Family Talk with James Dobsondrjamesdobson.orgChristian GrowthYes2018N/AA
Far East Broadcasting Company, Inc.www.febc.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
Feed the Hunger, Inc. formerly New Directions International/ NDIwww.feedthehunger.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
Fellowship for the Performing Arts, Inc.www.listenersbible.comChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Fellowship of Companies for Christ / FCCIwww.fcci.orgChristian GrowthYes20172018A
First Liberty Institutefirstliberty.org/AdvocacyYes20182018A
Focus on the Familywww.family.orgEducational MediaYes20172018A
Forge (fka Kingdom Building Ministries, Inc.)www.kbm.orgChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Free Wheelchair Mission (FWM)www.freewheelchairmission.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Freedom in Christ Ministrieswww.ficm.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172016A
Frontierswww.frontiers.orgForeign MissionsYes20182019A
Global Advance, Inc.www.globaladvance.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172018A
Good Newswww.goodnewsmag.orgChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Hope Unlimited for Childrenwww.hopeunlimited.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172017A
Image Clear Ultrasound, Inc. (ICU Mobile)www.icumobile.orgHealth & Well-BeingYes20182017A
India Gospel Outreachwww.indiago.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172017A
India National Inland Missionwww.InlandMission.orgEvangelism SupportYes20182017A
InFaith FKA: American Missionary Fellowshipwww.infaith.orgEvangelismYes20192018A
Insight for Living/ Chuck Swindollwww.insight.orgEducational MediaYes20172017A
Institute for Creation Research / ICRwww.icr.orgChristian GrowthYes20182018A
InterAct Ministries, Inc.www.interactministries.orgForeign MissionsYes20182017A
InterFACE Ministries, Inc./ IFACEwww.iface.orgEvangelismYes20172017A
International Cooperating Ministrieswww.icm.orgForeign Missions201920172019A
International Friendships, Inc.www.ifipartners.orgEvangelismYes20172018A
International Messengerswww.internationalmessengers.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
International Needs formerly IN Network USAwww.internationalneeds.usEvangelism SupportYes20172018A
Interserve, USA / International Service Fellowshipwww.interserveusa.orgForeign MissionsYes20182019A
InterVarsity Christian Fellowship/USAwww.intervarsity.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172019A
JAARS, Inc.www.jaars.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172018A
Jewish Voice Ministries Internationalwww.jewishvoice.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Joni and Friends/ Joni Eareckson Tadawww.joniandfriends.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20182017A
Joshua Fundwww.joshuafund.netForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Key Life Network, Inc.www.keylife.orgEducational MediaYes20172018A
Kids Alive International, Inc.www.kidsalive.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Lamb & Lion Ministrieswww.lamblion.comEvangelismYes20172018A
LATCOMwww.latcom.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
Leadership Ministries Worldwidewww.outlinebible.orgLeadership TrainingYes20172017A
Leading The Way with Dr. Michael Youssefwww.ltw.orgEducational MediaYes20182018A
Life Action Ministrieswww.lifeaction.orgAdvocacyYes20182018A
Life Centerswww.lifecenters.comAdvocacyYes20182018A
Lifechangers, Inc./ Bob Mumfordwww.lifechangers.orgChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Literacy & Evangelism Internationalwww.LiteracyEvangelism.orgEvangelism SupportYes20182017A
Living Free, Inc. formerly Turning Point Ministrieswww.livingfree.orgChristian GrowthYes20182017A
Living Water Internationalwww.water.ccRelief and DevelopmentYes20172019A
Love Worth Finding Ministrieswww.lwf.orgEducational MediaYes20172017A
Loving Grace Ministries, Inc.www.lovinggrace.orgEducational MediaYes20172017A
Luis Palau Evangelistic Associationwww.palau.orgEvangelismYes20172017A
Luke Society, Inc., Thewww.lukesociety.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172017A
Lutheran Bible Translators, Inc.www.LBT.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
MAP Internationalwww.map.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Marketplace Ministries, Inc.www.marketplaceministries.comChristian GrowthYes20182017A
Mars Hill Broadcasting Co, Inc.www.marshillnetwork.orgRadio/ TV StationsYes20192018A
Mars Hill Productions, Inc.www.mars-hill.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172017A
Mastermedia Internationalwww.mastermediaintl.orgEvangelismYes20172018A
Medical Ambassadors Internationalwww.MedicalAmbassadors.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20172017A
Medical Teams International (MTI)www.medicalteams.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Mercy Shipswww.mercyships.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Mexican Medical, Inc.www.mexicanmedical.comRelief and DevelopmentYes20172017A
Miracle Hill Ministries, Inc.www.miraclehill.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20182018A
Mission Eurasia (formerly Russian Ministries)www.missioneurasia.orgForeign MissionsYes20182017A
Mission Possible, Inc.www.ourmissionispossible.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
Missionary Athletes Internationalwww.maisoccer.comFellowship EvangelismYes20172017A
Moms In Prayer Internationalwww.momsintouch.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172017A
Montrose Broadcasting Corporation: WPEL / WPGM / WBGMwww.wpel.orgRadio/ TV StationsYes20172015A
MOPS International, Inc.www.MOPS.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172017A
Motor Racing Outreachwww.go2mro.comFellowship EvangelismYes20172018A
Museum of the Bible IncNULLNULLYes20182018A
Narramore Christian Foundation, Inc.www.ncfliving.orgChristian GrowthYes20172017A
Navajo Ministries/ Navajo Missionswww.navajoministries.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20172018A
Nazarene Compassionate Ministries, Inc.www.ncmi.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Officers' Christian Fellowship / OCFwww.ocfusa.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20182019A
One Child Matters formerly Mission of Mercywww.onechildmatters.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
One Collective formerly International Teamswww.iteams.usForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Open Air Campaigners US Incorporatedwww.oacusa.orgEvangelismYes20172018A
Open Doors with Brother Andrew, Inc.www.opendoorsusa.org/Persecuted ChristiansYes20172018A
Operation Blessing International/ OBIwww.ob.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Paul Anderson Youth Home Inc.www.payh.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172017A
Persecution Project Foundationwww.persecutionproject.orgPersecuted ChristiansYes20172018A
Pioneer Bible Translatorswww.pioneerbible.orgForeign MissionsYes20172018A
Pioneer Clubswww.pioneerclubs.orgChristian GrowthYes20182017A
Pioneers, Inc.www.pioneers.orgForeign MissionsYes20182018A
Plant With Purposewww.plantwithpurpose.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Precept Ministries International/ Jack and Kay Arthurwww.precept.orgEducational MediaYes20172018A
Prison Fellowship Ministries/ PFM/ Chuck Colsonwww.pfm.orgChristian GrowthYes20172019A
Probe Ministries International, Inc.www.probe.orgChristian GrowthYes20182017A
Roever Evangelistic Associationwww.daveroever.orgEvangelismYes20172017A
Romanian Missionary Societywww.RMSonline.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172017A
Ron Hutchcraft Ministries / RHMwww.hutchcraft.comEvangelismYes20172018A
RREACH Ramesh Richard Evangelism and Church Healthwww.rreach.orgEvangelism SupportYes20172018A
Safe Families for Childrenwww.safe-families.orgAdvocacyYes20182017A
SafeHouse Outreach Inc.www.safehouseoutreach.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20162016A
Samaritan's Purse/ Operation Christmas Child/ Franklin Grahamwww.samaritanspurse.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
SAT 7 / SAT-7 North Americawww.sat7usa.orgRadio/ TV StationsYes20172018A
Scripture Union USA / SUwww.scriptureunion.orgPublishingYes20182018A
Serge (formerly World Harvest Mission)www.serge.orgForeign MissionsYes20182017A
Shelter For Life International Inc.www.shelter.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20172017A
Sky Ranch Foundationwww.skyranch.orgChristian GrowthYes20172013A
STEER, Inc.www.steerinc.comEvangelism SupportYes20182018A
Steve Wingfield Evangelistic Associationwww.stevewingfield.orgEvangelismYes20172007A
Student Mobilization, Inc.www.stumo.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172017A
Summit Ministrieswww.summit.orgChristian GrowthYes20172018A
Teen Challenge International, USAwww.teenchallengeusa.comCommunity DevelopmentYes20182017A
The Urban Alternative/Tony Evanswww.tonyevans.orgCommunity DevelopmentYes20172017A
Touching Lives/ James Merrittwww.touchinglives.orgEducational MediaYes20182016A
Truth For Lifewww.truthforlife.orgEducational MediaYes20172018A
United Marriage Encounterwww.unitedmarriage.orgChristian GrowthYes20182017A
Village Missionswww.village-missions.org/EvangelismYes20162017A
Vision New Englandwww.visionnewengland.comEvangelism SupportYes20182017A
Walk Thru the Bible Ministrieswww.walkthru.orgChristian GrowthYes20182017A
Water for Life, Inc.www.wflhaiti.comRelief and DevelopmentYes20172018A
Water Missionwww.watermission.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182018A
Western Indian Ministries, Inc.www.westernindian.orgEvangelismYes20172017A
World Compassion Terry Law Ministrieswww.worldcompassion.tvEvangelism SupportYes20172017A
World Helpwww.worldhelp.netForeign MissionsYes20182017A
World Missionary Press, Inc.www.wmpress.orgPublishingYes20172017A
World Reachwww.world-reach.orgForeign MissionsYes20172017A
World Reliefwww.worldrelief.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182017A
World Renew formerly Christian Reformed World Relief Committee Inc.www.worldrenew.netRelief and DevelopmentYes20182017A
World Vision, Inc., U.S.www.worldvision.orgRelief and DevelopmentYes20182017A
Worldwide Discipleship Association, Inc.www.disciplebuilding.orgChristian GrowthYes20172018A
Wycliffe Bible Translators, Inc./ WBTwww.wycliffe.orgForeign MissionsYes20182018A
Young Lifewww.younglife.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172018A
Youth Dynamicswww.yd.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20172017A
Youth for Christ USA, Inc.www.yfc.orgFellowship EvangelismYes20182018A
YUGO Ministrieswww.yugo.orgForeign MissionsYes20172016A
Tags:
Warren Cole Smith
Warren Cole Smith

Warren previously served as Vice President of WORLD News Group, publisher of WORLD Magazine and has more than 30 years of experience as a writer, editor, marketing professional, and entrepreneur. Before launching a career in Christian journalism 20 years ago, Smith spent more than seven years as the Marketing Director at PricewaterhouseCoopers.

    1

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *